Wanna / Top 7 AI note-taking apps
Top 7 AI note-taking apps
Written by Wanna AI. Updated 17 Oct 2026. Checked on 17 Oct 2026, refreshed every 30 days. This page was written by Wanna AI; Wanna in this list is our product, and it does not take notes, so read its row with that in mind. The order is alphabetical, with Wanna last. It is not a score.
Short answer. An AI note-taking app stores your notes and adds AI that searches them, summarizes them or helps you write. The seven differ most in where the AI sits: included in every plan (Mem, Craft), behind a paid tier (Notion, Capacities), tied to a Microsoft 365 subscription (OneNote), or paid for with your own key (Reflect).
How we chose
- The vendor's own pages name an AI feature for notes: chat, search, summaries or writing help.
- We read each vendor's own site on 17 Oct 2026. Where a page showed no price or no AI limit, the table says "not found" and we did not fill the gap from a review.
- Not listed: Obsidian and Bear, because their own pages show no AI feature; Apple Notes, because it has no page of its own for notes and pricing; Google NotebookLM, which redirects to a Gemini Notebook page we could read only by title.
- We ran none of the seven. Everything about them is what their pages say.
The seven at a glance
| App | What it does | Who it is for | Price and AI limits, read 17 Oct 2026 | Honest minuses |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Capacities | "A home for everything you think, learn, and create"; an AI Assistant is named | "Individuals who think for a living" | Basic is free and has no AI. Pro: monthly rate of $9.99 for one user, with a light AI budget; billed yearly is 16% less. Believer from $12.49 monthly. An AI Power-Up add-on, monthly rate of $8.33 for one user and billed annually, gives a larger AI budget | AI is not on the free plan; the visible prices differ from the prices in the page's structured data, so confirm at checkout; the page says it is built for individuals, not teams |
| Craft | "Your space for notes, tasks, and big ideas"; AI writing assistant | Individuals and families; a Team plan for up to 10 accounts | Starter €0: 15 AI credits. Plus €6.4 monthly (shown beside a struck-through €8.0): 50 AI credits a month. Family €12.0 and Team €50.0 monthly, no AI allowance stated. Euros as shown to us | A credit is not defined on the page; it does not say which price is the yearly one; free plan holds 1,500 blocks |
| Evernote | "Your second brain": notes, tasks and schedule; AI Assistant, semantic search, transcription | Students, productivity users and enterprises, per its menu | Plans Free, Starter, Advanced, Flexible and Unlimited are listed; price not found on the plan pages. Free holds 50 notes, 1 notebook and 1 device. Trials last 7 days unless stated | No prices shown; the plan table does not say which plans include which AI feature; the footer names Bending Spoons US Inc. as the owner |
| Mem | "Your AI chief of staff": chat with your notes, agent, voice, calendar | Founders, consultants, executives, creators | AI in every plan with caps. Free: 25 messages and 25 new notes. Plus: monthly rate of $9 for one user, 50 messages. Pro: $29 monthly, 100 messages. Higher tiers to $199 monthly. No yearly price or trial shown | Small free tier; routines and connections start at Pro; monthly prices only; mem.ai itself showed only a browser-update notice, so we read get.mem.ai |
| Microsoft OneNote | "Capture ideas, organize projects, and keep everything in one place"; Copilot drafts plans and lists | Individuals, students, teachers, businesses | Free version exists, its Copilot cap not found. Microsoft 365 Personal: monthly rate of $9.99 for one user or $99.99 billed yearly. Family $12.99 or $129.99. Premium $19.99 or $199.99. One-month trial | Full AI sits behind a Microsoft 365 subscription; free-tier Copilot limits not stated; the page is inconsistent about desktop apps |
| Notion | "Capture context, find answers, and automate tasks with AI built for your team" | Teams, small businesses, startups, enterprises | Free €0 and Plus monthly rate of €9.50 for one member: Notion AI is a trial only. Business €19.50: includes Notion Agent and AI Meeting Notes. Enterprise on request. Custom Agents: free to try, then $10 for 1,000 credits a month | Ongoing AI needs Business, about double the Plus rate; the page does not say whether the shown rate is monthly or yearly; agent use is metered in credits |
| Reflect | "An open-source note-taking app with daily notes, backlinks, and local Markdown files"; optional AI | Not stated; its testimonials mention journaling and research | Reflect Open for Mac: free, no subscription. iPhone and iPad: paid, price on the App Store, not found on its site. Classic price not found. AI is optional and uses your own API key, with provider charges apart | AI needs your own key and a separate bill; no price on its site; two product lines, Open and Classic, side by side |
| Wanna | Reads your site link, plans your week and drafts letters, posts and applications; posts and applications wait for your OK, and letters go out only once you turn sending on; it does not take or store notes | A founder with a product and little time | Free: plan, matches with sources, first drafts. Starter: 200 credits a month, about 20 tasks. Growth: 5,000 credits, about 500 tasks. Scale: 16,000 credits, up to 5 companies. One task is 10 credits | Not a note-taking app: no notebook, no search of your notes; early, with 3 companies of people and 0 paying on the live page at 13:33 UTC on 17 Oct 2026; no security audit report yet, see Trust |
By need
- AI chat across all your notes: Mem, or Notion on Business.
- Local files and your own AI key: Reflect.
- Already paying for Microsoft 365: OneNote.
- Free to start with a small AI allowance: Craft.
- A notes app for one person, not a team: Capacities.
- The next task for your company, not a place to keep notes: Wanna.
Where Wanna fits
Wanna is not a notes app. You paste your site link, it plans the week and drafts the work, and posts and applications wait for your OK (how it works). If your problem is where ideas and meeting notes live, pick from the seven above. If it is knowing what to do next, read how to choose an AI that runs your company. Related lists: AI scheduling assistants and AI personal assistant apps.
What this list does not replace
A vendor's page is a claim. This list does not replace a week of real use with your own notes, and we have not done that for you. It does not replace a check of where your notes are stored and whether an AI step sends them to a model provider, which matters before you put customer or health records in any of these apps. It does not replace a backup you control.
FAQ
What is an AI note-taking app? It is a notes app with AI that searches, summarizes or drafts from your notes. The seven here describe it on their own pages; we did not test them.
Are there free AI note-taking apps? Mem, Craft and OneNote show a free plan with AI in some form: 25 messages in Mem, 15 credits in Craft, and an unstated Copilot limit in OneNote. Notion's AI is a trial on Free. Capacities' free plan has no AI.
How much do AI note-taking apps cost? In these seven, paid plans with AI start near €6.4 (Craft Plus), $9 (Mem Plus), $9.99 (Capacities Pro, OneNote via Microsoft 365 Personal) and €19.50 (Notion Business), all as monthly rates. Evernote and Reflect showed no price on their sites.
Which one keeps my notes as local files? Reflect says it uses local Markdown files. We did not check how it syncs.
Can Wanna take my meeting notes? No. Wanna does not take or store notes. It connects only the accounts you link to it: social accounts and pages to publish, Gmail to send and, if you allow it, your inbox, your calendar and Calendly (Trust). It is our product, so its minuses are in the table like the others.
How often is this list updated? Every 30 days, from the vendors' own pages.
Paste your link and see the plan Wanna would make for your company.